Hold Your Hands

A long time ago, I fell in love.

The person I fell in love with was addled by nightmares due to mountains of family problems, their world on the verge of collapsing.  The giver in me strummed this song to assure that no one should feel alone in this world, that holding hands with someone else that cares feels very warm.

Years later as I revisited this song, I wonder.  Was expressions in this song reflect, more than anything else, what Lorde described in Liability as “going home to the girl that I love, the only love I haven’t screwed up — one so hard to please but she is a forest fire?”

It was about being rejected, and returning to the perennially-bountiful arms of being content with oneself.

For an image in the mirror: a boy that all along searches for the unwavering presence of a hand to hold?

Isn’t after all, how we express our fondness, affection, and love epitomizes, with utmost clarity, the ideal form affection we long for?

 

(*) When you dream and it's bad, and you're shivering,
    I will hold your hands
    When the night is cold, I will be next to you
    Don't you be afraid no more...

At the peak of your exhaustion
When the world just gets to you
When all your thoughts are monstrous roars,
shattering your calm...
Then they ask you the impossible
and you don't know what to do
The light is somewhere, baby,
Just let it get to you.

Waiting for the sunrise is a crazy time to spend,
But our fingers are entwined,
Your hands are warm in mine...

(*) When you dream and it's bad, and you're shivering,
    I will hold your hands
    When the night is cold, I will be next to you
    Don't you be afraid no more...

When you feel your hopes defy you
Your legs can't seem to stand
When everything you've cared to build,
they all come crumbling down
Still, they ask you the impossible
and you don't know what to do
The light is somewhere baby,
Just let it get to you

When their love ain't make no sense
It is a crazy time to spend
But our fingers are entwined,
Your hands are warm in mine...

(*) When you dream and it's bad, and you're shivering,
    I will hold your hands
    When the night is cold, I will be next to you
    Don't you be afraid no more...

And you're here in my sanctuary
Safe from all the haunting chase
So pour yourself into me entirely
For I will be your ocean deep
where warmth will bathe your every pore
Just hold my hands, grip my hands, release,
my baby...

(*) When you dream and it's bad, and you're shivering,
    I will hold your hands
    When the night is cold, I will be next to you
    Don't you be afraid no more...
Leave a Reply

